Owned&Tested Nobody sends me free gear
Pocket Knives · Warranties

Knife warranties and free sharpening: 22 brands compared

Direct answer: Eight of these 22 brands sharpen your knife for free: Benchmade, Chris Reeve, CIVIVI/WE, Cold Steel, Kershaw, SOG, Spyderco and Zero Tolerance. Twenty cover defects for life, so the real differences are postage and paperwork: nine cover the first owner only.
Knife warranty terms, 22 brands For each brand, four questions answered from its own warranty and service pages: Lifetime warranty on defects; Covers any owner, not only the first buyer; Free factory sharpening; Brand covers shipping on a warranty claim. A full dot means yes, a half dot partly or for a fee, an empty ring no, a dash that the brand’s pages don’t say. The same terms are written out on each brand’s card below. Yes Partly, or a fee No Not stated Lifetime warranty Any owner Free sharpening Shipping covered Spyderco Spyderco · Lifetime warranty on defects: yes. For the life of the product Spyderco · Covers any owner, not only the first buyer: yes. Covers “the owner of a genuine Spyderco product”; receipt only if available Spyderco · Free factory sharpening: yes. No charge for sharpening, plain or serrated; $10 return shipping Spyderco · Brand covers shipping on a warranty claim: no. Shipping both ways is the customer's responsibility Benchmade Benchmade · Lifetime warranty on defects: yes. Limited lifetime warranty on defects Benchmade · Covers any owner, not only the first buyer: not stated. The warranty pages don't say; the LifeSharp sharpening service is open to all owners Benchmade · Free factory sharpening: yes. LifeSharp: free sharpening, cleaning and tune-up for life Benchmade · Brand covers shipping on a warranty claim: partly, or a fee. $20 kit covers insured shipping both ways; free through a dealer or the factory store Chris Reeve Chris Reeve · Lifetime warranty on defects: yes. For the life of the knife Chris Reeve · Covers any owner, not only the first buyer: not stated. No owner rule on the warranty page Chris Reeve · Free factory sharpening: yes. Free hand sharpening in the Spa service Chris Reeve · Brand covers shipping on a warranty claim: partly, or a fee. CRK pays the return on a defect repair; otherwise you pay both ways Kershaw Kershaw · Lifetime warranty on defects: yes. Limited lifetime warranty, original owner Kershaw · Covers any owner, not only the first buyer: no. Original owner only; not transferable Kershaw · Free factory sharpening: yes. Free for as long as you own the knife Kershaw · Brand covers shipping on a warranty claim: partly, or a fee. You pay both ways: postage in, plus a flat $7 return fee Zero Tolerance Zero Tolerance · Lifetime warranty on defects: yes. Limited lifetime warranty, original owner Zero Tolerance · Covers any owner, not only the first buyer: no. Original owner only; not transferable Zero Tolerance · Free factory sharpening: yes. Free for as long as you own the knife Zero Tolerance · Brand covers shipping on a warranty claim: partly, or a fee. You pay both ways: postage in, plus a flat $7 return fee Buck Buck · Lifetime warranty on defects: yes. Forever Warranty: life of the knife Buck · Covers any owner, not only the first buyer: not stated. No owner rule on the warranty page Buck · Free factory sharpening: partly, or a fee. Paid: $6.95 a knife Buck · Brand covers shipping on a warranty claim: partly, or a fee. You ship it in; Buck pays the return on warranty work CIVIVI / WE CIVIVI / WE · Lifetime warranty on defects: yes. Life of the product, original owner CIVIVI / WE · Covers any owner, not only the first buyer: no. Original owner only CIVIVI / WE · Free factory sharpening: yes. “Free resharpening service”, per both FAQs CIVIVI / WE · Brand covers shipping on a warranty claim: not stated. Not stated; if it isn't a defect, the return is on you Cold Steel Cold Steel · Lifetime warranty on defects: yes. Limited lifetime warranty Cold Steel · Covers any owner, not only the first buyer: not stated. Not stated Cold Steel · Free factory sharpening: yes. Free on any Cold Steel knife; $10 shipping and handling Cold Steel · Brand covers shipping on a warranty claim: not stated. You ship it in with tracking; return not stated Demko Demko · Lifetime warranty on defects: yes. Life of the product Demko · Covers any owner, not only the first buyer: not stated. No owner rule for the warranty Demko · Free factory sharpening: not stated. None listed Demko · Brand covers shipping on a warranty claim: yes. For a defect, Demko provides the shipping ESEE ESEE · Lifetime warranty on defects: yes. Lifetime: break it and they repair or replace it ESEE · Covers any owner, not only the first buyer: yes. Transferable; no receipt required ESEE · Free factory sharpening: not stated. “Contact us” about sharpening ESEE · Brand covers shipping on a warranty claim: no. Customer pays shipping both ways Microtech Microtech · Lifetime warranty on defects: yes. Limited lifetime warranty Microtech · Covers any owner, not only the first buyer: not stated. Not stated; keep your proof of purchase Microtech · Free factory sharpening: partly, or a fee. Paid: $30 clean, oil and sharpen; free with warranty work Microtech · Brand covers shipping on a warranty claim: partly, or a fee. You ship it in; Microtech pays the return on valid claims SOG SOG · Lifetime warranty on defects: yes. Limited lifetime warranty SOG · Covers any owner, not only the first buyer: not stated. Not stated; must be bought from SOG or an authorized seller SOG · Free factory sharpening: yes. Free on any SOG knife; $10 shipping and handling SOG · Brand covers shipping on a warranty claim: not stated. You ship it in with tracking; return not stated Rick Hinderer Rick Hinderer · Lifetime warranty on defects: yes. For the serviceable lifetime of the product Rick Hinderer · Covers any owner, not only the first buyer: not stated. Not stated Rick Hinderer · Free factory sharpening: partly, or a fee. Paid: $15 including US return shipping Rick Hinderer · Brand covers shipping on a warranty claim: not stated. You ship it in; return on warranty work not stated Victorinox Victorinox · Lifetime warranty on defects: yes. Lifetime of the product; electronics and accessories two years Victorinox · Covers any owner, not only the first buyer: not stated. Warrants “to the end-user purchaser”; no transfer rule Victorinox · Free factory sharpening: not stated. No factory sharpening service listed Victorinox · Brand covers shipping on a warranty claim: partly, or a fee. Victorinox pays the return; you ship it in; $5 processing fee in the US Böker Böker · Lifetime warranty on defects: yes. Life of the product, original owner Böker · Covers any owner, not only the first buyer: no. Original owner Böker · Free factory sharpening: no. Only ceramic blades, paid, through Ross Cutlery Böker · Brand covers shipping on a warranty claim: no. “You only pay for shipping and handling” Case Case · Lifetime warranty on defects: yes. Limited lifetime warranty, “for the life of the owner” Case · Covers any owner, not only the first buyer: not stated. Not stated Case · Free factory sharpening: not stated. No sharpening service on its warranty and repair pages Case · Brand covers shipping on a warranty claim: not stated. Not stated; Case tells you how to send it CRKT CRKT · Lifetime warranty on defects: yes. Limited lifetime, while the original buyer owns it CRKT · Covers any owner, not only the first buyer: no. Coverage ends if you sell or give it away CRKT · Free factory sharpening: no. “We do not currently offer a sharpening service” CRKT · Brand covers shipping on a warranty claim: not stated. You ship it in; return not stated Gerber Gerber · Lifetime warranty on defects: yes. Lifetime in North America; 25 years elsewhere Gerber · Covers any owner, not only the first buyer: no. Original buyer or giftee only Gerber · Free factory sharpening: not stated. No sharpening service listed; the warranty excludes sharpening Gerber · Brand covers shipping on a warranty claim: not stated. Photo claims; if asked to send it, you pay KA-BAR KA-BAR · Lifetime warranty on defects: yes. For the lifetime of the original buyer KA-BAR · Covers any owner, not only the first buyer: no. Original buyer only KA-BAR · Free factory sharpening: no. No sharpening or repair services KA-BAR · Brand covers shipping on a warranty claim: not stated. You ship it in at your own expense; return not stated Kizer Kizer · Lifetime warranty on defects: yes. Limited lifetime warranty, original owner Kizer · Covers any owner, not only the first buyer: no. Original owner only Kizer · Free factory sharpening: not stated. Sharpening mentioned; no price or terms published Kizer · Brand covers shipping on a warranty claim: no. Postage is the customer's responsibility Leatherman Leatherman · Lifetime warranty on defects: no. 25 years (40 for Insider members) Leatherman · Covers any owner, not only the first buyer: no. Original or primary owner only Leatherman · Free factory sharpening: partly, or a fee. Free only on MagnaCut models Leatherman · Brand covers shipping on a warranty claim: partly, or a fee. You ship it in; Leatherman pays the return Ontario Ontario · Lifetime warranty on defects: partly, or a fee. Lifetime on US-made knives; one year on imported ones Ontario · Covers any owner, not only the first buyer: not stated. Not stated Ontario · Free factory sharpening: not stated. None listed Ontario · Brand covers shipping on a warranty claim: not stated. Not stated
Read from each brand’s own pages on Sep 24, 2026. A dash means they don’t say, which is not the same as no. Tap a brand for its card.

I’ve sent a knife back to CRKT to repair, returned a couple to Kizer and CIVIVI, and received parts from Spyderco. Here’s what 22 brands put in writing.

Published: Sep 29, 2026 Terms checked: Sep 24, 2026

Brand by brand: nobody says yes to all four; Spyderco comes closest

Spyderco

From me: I have received parts from Spyderco.

In my drawer: 7 Spydercos (the full list).

Warranty: Covers “the owner of a genuine Spyderco product for the life of the product” against defects in material and workmanship. Spyderco repairs it or exchanges it for the same or a similar model.

Leaves out: Loss, theft, accidents, abuse, misuse, alterations, neglect, improper sharpening, normal wear and repairs by anyone else. Broken, lost or bent metal clips are typically not covered, and Spyderco does not replace blades under any circumstances.

Sharpening: No charge for sharpening plain, serrated or combination edges. You pay $10 for return shipping and handling, for up to four knives in one box.

Shipping: You pay shipping both ways; Spyderco calls it the customer's responsibility.

Owner and receipt: Include proof of purchase “if available.”

Start a claim: Print the Warranty & Repair Form, add a description of the problem and any fees, and mail the knife to Spyderco in Golden, Colorado.

Also: Other fixed fees on the same page: $20 to regrind a broken tip or reprofile a chipped edge, plus $10 return shipping.

Sources: Warranty & Repair

Benchmade

Warranty: Limited lifetime warranty against manufacturing defects. Benchmade repairs or replaces at no cost, and most like-for-like blade and handle replacements are free.

Leaves out: Cosmetic wear (coating wear, scratches, discoloration) and problems caused by misuse or modification. Cosmetically worn parts can be replaced for a fee.

Sharpening: Free for the life of the knife through LifeSharp: sharpening, cleaning, oiling and adjustment. Every warranty job is sharpened too. No serrations.

Shipping: Online requests carry a $20 Service Kit fee that covers the packaging and insured shipping both ways. It's free if an authorized dealer sends the knife in for you, or if you drop it at the factory store in Oregon City.

Owner and receipt: The warranty pages don't say whether a second owner is covered, and they don't ask for a receipt. LifeSharp, the sharpening service, is open to “all owners of authentic Benchmade knives.” A knife found to be counterfeit is not serviced or returned.

Start a claim: Fill in the Warranty Service Form or the LifeSharp form on benchmade.com. Benchmade mails the Service Kit within a business day, and it arrives in 3–5 business days.

How long: 7–10 business days for LifeSharp and 9–12 for warranty work, counted from when you send it (Benchmade's estimate).

Sources: Warranty · LifeSharp · Warranty help article · LifeSharp help article · Free-service help article · Turnaround help article · Replacement parts help article · Counterfeit policy

Chris Reeve

Warranty: Defects in workmanship or materials are made good free of cost “for the life of the knife.” The knife must be in its original configuration.

Leaves out: Natural materials, normal wear, misuse (screwdriver, pry bar, chisel, punch), aggressive flicking, lost screws and washers, cosmetic damage, modifications such as lock-bar adjustment or anodizing, and service by anyone outside CRK.

Sharpening: Free and done by hand, as part of the free Spa service with cleaning, tuning and authentication. The Spa is free as long as the knife hasn't been modified, misused or abused.

Shipping: For Spa service you pay to ship the knife to Boise and back; return shipping starts at $20 for one knife in the US. When CRK repairs a defect, the return shipping is on them.

Owner and receipt: No owner or receipt rule on the warranty page.

Start a claim: Fill out the service form online, print it, then pack, insure and ship the knife to CRK in Boise, Idaho. CRK suggests insuring it for its full value.

How long: 9–12 weeks after check-in.

Sources: Warranty · Service prices · Send it in

Kershaw

Warranty: Limited lifetime warranty for the original owner against defects in material and construction.

Leaves out: Normal wear, rust, damage from improper use or maintenance, accidents, loss or theft. Void if the knife has been modified; prying or twisting counts as misuse. Not the TX Tool, Fire Starter or Kershaw Oil.

Sharpening: Free for as long as you own the knife, and every knife sent in for service is sharpened unless you ask them not to. Serrations are honed, not sharpened.

Shipping: You pay to ship the knife to Kai USA in Tualatin, Oregon, plus a flat $7 return shipping and processing fee, however many knives are in the box.

Owner and receipt: Original owner only; the warranty is non-transferable. Kai USA takes knives bought in the USA or Mexico; bought elsewhere, go back to the dealer. Customers in Canada go to Kershaw Canada for all warranty and service requests, until further notice.

Start a claim: Fill in the Warranty/Service Form online, print two copies, and ship one in a box with the knife and the fee. Or drop the knife off in person at Kai USA's warranty department, Monday to Friday.

How long: About 2 weeks for mail-in service (Kai USA's estimate).

Also: A broken blade that isn't covered can be replaced for $25. Kershaw and Zero Tolerance are both Kai USA brands and share one warranty department.

Sources: Warranty & Service · FAQ

Zero Tolerance

Warranty: Limited lifetime warranty for the original owner against defects in material and construction.

Leaves out: Normal wear, rust, damage from improper use or maintenance, accidents, loss or theft. Void if the knife has been modified.

Sharpening: Free for as long as you own the knife, and every ZT sent in for service is sharpened unless you ask them not to. Serrations are honed, not sharpened.

Shipping: You pay to ship the knife to Kai USA in Tualatin, Oregon, plus a flat $7 return shipping and processing fee, however many knives are in the box.

Owner and receipt: Original owner only; the warranty is non-transferable. Kai USA takes knives bought in the USA or Mexico (one paragraph also names Canada). Customers in Canada go to Kershaw Canada for all warranty and service requests, until further notice.

Start a claim: Fill in the Warranty/Service Form online, print two copies, and ship one in a box with the knife and the fee. Or drop it off in person at Kai USA's warranty department, Monday to Friday.

How long: About 2 weeks for mail-in service (Kai USA's estimate).

Also: A broken ZT blade that isn't covered can be replaced for $40.

Sources: Warranty & Service · FAQ

Buck

Warranty: The Forever Warranty: free of defects in material and workmanship for the life of the knife. Buck repairs or replaces. Sheaths get one year.

Leaves out: Normal wear, misuse (hammer, chisel, pry bar, screwdriver), modifications, coating wear, dishwasher damage, rust, and loss or theft. Taking the knife apart voids the warranty (reassembly is $10).

Sharpening: Paid: the Spa service sharpens, polishes and adjusts for $6.95 a knife. Buck's warranty and sharpening pages say that includes return shipping; its FAQ says “plus return shipping.” No serrated edges.

Shipping: You pay to ship the knife in; Buck pays all return shipping on warranty work.

Owner and receipt: No owner or receipt rule on the warranty page.

Start a claim: Download, fill out and print the Warranty Repair Form, and ship the knife in a box to Buck in Post Falls, Idaho. Buck emails when work starts, and you pay any fees by phone or check.

How long: 10–12 weeks for repairs, 4–5 weeks for the Spa service.

Also: A broken folding-knife blade can be replaced for $10 (420HC) or $15 (other steels), Spa included.

Sources: Forever Warranty · Sharpening service · FAQ

CIVIVI / WE

From me: I've returned a couple of knives to Kizer and CIVIVI.

In my drawer: 6 CIVIVIs (the full list).

Warranty: Free from defects in material and workmanship for the life of the product, to the original owner. The brand repairs or replaces with the same model, or one of equal value. CIVIVI and WE publish the same warranty text.

Leaves out: Misuse, abuse, neglect, improper maintenance, accidents, throwing, prying, dropping, chipped edges, broken serrations, improper sharpening, and rust from neglect. Broken tips and metal clips are usually not covered. Any outside repair or modification voids it.

Sharpening: Both FAQs say “we are pleased to offer free resharpening service.” Shipping terms for it aren't published.

Shipping: Not stated for warranty work. If the problem turns out not to be a defect, you pay for the return.

Owner and receipt: Original owner only. You need a return authorization before you ship.

Start a claim: Email service@civivi.com (CIVIVI) or service@weknife.com (WE) for a return authorization before sending the knife.

Sources: CIVIVI warranty · CIVIVI FAQ · WE warranty · WE FAQ

Cold Steel

Warranty: Limited lifetime warranty against defects in workmanship and materials.

Leaves out: Normal wear, resharpening, misuse, lack of normal maintenance, disassembly, tampering and unauthorized service. No knife should be used as an axe, hatchet, screwdriver or pry bar.

Sharpening: Free on any Cold Steel knife. You pay $10 for shipping and handling, by card, when you ask for the return number.

Shipping: You ship it in, with tracking, after getting a return number. Return shipping on a warranty claim isn't stated.

Owner and receipt: Not stated on the warranty page.

Start a claim: Call customer service at 877-269-8490 for a Return Authorization number before shipping. Cold Steel says it isn't responsible for anything sent without one, and it refuses sharpening packages that arrive without one.

How long: Sharpening can take up to four weeks, done in batches.

Also: Same owner as SOG (GSM Outdoors) and the same core warranty and sharpening terms.

Sources: Warranty · Free sharpening · GSM Outdoors brands

Demko

In my drawer: 2 Demkos (the full list).

Warranty: Limited lifetime warranty: every Demko knife in its unaltered factory configuration, against manufacturing defects and quality-control issues, for the life of the product.

Leaves out: Normal wear, cosmetic issues on used knives, rust or breakage from neglect, damage done while cleaning or sharpening, and aftermarket parts or modifications. Normal cleaning, maintenance and sharpening don't void it.

Sharpening: No sharpening service listed on its pages.

Shipping: When the problem is a defect or a Demko error, Demko “will provide shipping service” to get the knife inspected or serviced.

Owner and receipt: No owner rule for the warranty. If the fix is a refund, it goes to the original buyer with a receipt. Bought from an authorized dealer? Demko suggests starting there.

Start a claim: Email support@demkoknives.com.

How long: Allow 4 weeks for warranty and repair work.

Sources: Warranty

ESEE

Warranty: Lifetime and transferable: “if you break it, we will repair or replace it.” ESEE won't question the claim for a broken knife. It covers ESEE and Expat knives, not the Zancudo, Avispa or Churp folders.

Leaves out: Rust, normal wear, a dull edge, worn coatings, lost hardware, loss, theft and cosmetic damage. Modifications don't void it, per ESEE's FAQ.

Sharpening: No service listed; ESEE's FAQ says to contact it about sharpening and maintenance.

Shipping: You pay shipping both ways. Send it by USPS Priority Mail with tracking, and ESEE emails you for the return postage.

Owner and receipt: Any owner, however many times the knife was traded, sold or given away, with “no sales receipt or proof of purchase required.”

Start a claim: Fill in the online warranty form with a photo of the broken knife, then print the confirmation email and put it in the box.

Also: Zancudo, Avispa and Churp folders go to Blueridge Knives, which makes them; email info@eseeknives.com for the contact.

Sources: Warranty · Claim form · FAQ

Microtech

Warranty: Limited lifetime warranty against defects in materials or workmanship. Technicians weigh parts availability, whether the model is still made, and the knife's condition.

Leaves out: Improper use, neglect, abuse, disassembly, unauthorized modifications or aftermarket parts, loss, theft, accidental damage, and cosmetic wear.

Sharpening: Paid: a $30 service cleans, oils and sharpens the knife. Knives in for warranty come back cleaned, oiled and sharpened. Sharpening it yourself doesn't void the warranty unless the blade is sharpened improperly.

Shipping: You ship it in by UPS or FedEx; Microtech pays return shipping on valid warranty claims. A signature is required on delivery.

Owner and receipt: Microtech says to keep your proof of purchase; newer knives with one may get faster service. A counterfeit comes back with its marks removed and a $35 fee.

Start a claim: Open a support ticket at support.microtechknives.com with clear photos, one ticket per knife. You get shipping instructions by email.

How long: 6–8 weeks.

Sources: Warranty · Sharpening · How to send it in · Shipping instructions

SOG

Warranty: Limited lifetime warranty against defects in workmanship and materials, for knives bought from SOG or an authorized seller.

Leaves out: Normal wear, resharpening, misuse, lack of maintenance, disassembly, tampering and unauthorized service. Also rust or stains, bent or broken tips, scratched coatings, and broken or lost thumb studs. Signs of prying may void it.

Sharpening: Free on any SOG knife. You pay $10 for shipping and handling, by card, when you ask for the return number.

Shipping: You ship it in, with tracking, after getting a return number. Return shipping on a warranty claim isn't stated.

Owner and receipt: Bought from SOG or an authorized seller. No owner rule stated.

Start a claim: Call customer service at 877-269-8490 for a Return Authorization number before shipping. SOG says it isn't responsible for anything sent without one, and it refuses sharpening packages that arrive without one.

How long: Sharpening can take up to four weeks, done in batches.

Also: Same owner as Cold Steel (GSM Outdoors) and the same core terms, plus the extra exclusions and seller rule above.

Sources: Warranty and sharpening · GSM Outdoors brands

Rick Hinderer

Warranty: Limited warranty for “the serviceable lifetime of the product” against defects in materials and construction. Hinderer repairs or replaces.

Leaves out: Normal wear, rust, improper use or modification, lack of maintenance, lost hardware, torch heat-anodizing, and changes to the detent, lock face or lock bar. Swapping hardware, such as titanium clip screws, doesn't void it.

Sharpening: Paid: $15, including return shipping in the US. A $25 Spa also cleans the knife, sharpens it and replaces bearings or washers.

Shipping: You ship it in. Return shipping on warranty work isn't stated; non-warranty service is invoiced with the return shipping.

Owner and receipt: Not stated.

Start a claim: Fill in the warranty/service form on the Hinderer site, then ship the knife with your name, address, phone and a description of the problem.

How long: 2–4 weeks.

Sources: Warranty terms · Service form

Victorinox

Warranty: Lifetime of the product against material or manufacturing defects that appear in normal use. Electronics and accessories (lights, lanyards, pouches, clips and the like) get two years.

Leaves out: Normal wear, cosmetic damage, improper handling, abuse, misuse, negligence, accidents, modifications, and repairs by an unauthorized service center.

Sharpening: No factory sharpening service listed. Victorinox's FAQ explains how to sharpen the blade yourself.

Shipping: You ship the knife in, or take it to a service center; Victorinox pays to send it back. It “may charge a handling fee,” and its US repair checklist names a $5 processing fee for all repairs.

Owner and receipt: The warranty is made “to the end-user purchaser,” for knives bought from Victorinox or an authorized seller. Proof of purchase may be required.

Start a claim: Start a repair order on Victorinox's North America service site (choose Pocket Tools / Swiss Cards), then mail the knife to its US repair department in Monroe, Connecticut. An authorized seller or service center can also take it.

How long: Varies with workload, says the US checklist.

Sources: Lifetime warranty · FAQ · US repair checklist (PDF) · North America service site

Böker

Warranty: Limited lifetime warranty for the original owner, against defects in materials and workmanship. It covers Boker Solingen, Manufaktur, USA, Arbolito, Plus and Magnum knives.

Leaves out: Use as anything but a cutting tool, disassembly, and lost, stripped or tampered screws. Usually not covered: rust, blade breakage after more than a year of use, cracked handle scales, and bent or broken clips.

Sharpening: Only for ceramic knives, through Ross Cutlery in Los Angeles: $24.98 for the first knife and $12 for each extra one. No service for steel blades is listed.

Shipping: You pay shipping and handling; Boker covers the repair or replacement.

Owner and receipt: Original owner. Boker suggests registering your knife to help prove it.

Start a claim: Get an RMA number through the online form or by calling 1-800-835-6433 ext. 121, then ship to Boker USA in Lakewood, Colorado.

Sources: Warranty

Case

Warranty: Limited lifetime warranty: free of defects in materials and workmanship “for the life of the owner.” Case repairs it or replaces it with a new Case knife.

Leaves out: Normal wear, misuse and the finish; Case knives are not meant as hammers, chisels, pry bars or screwdrivers. Misuse damage can be repaired “for a reasonable fee.”

Sharpening: No sharpening service on Case's warranty and repair pages.

Shipping: Not stated. After reviewing your request and photos, Case explains how to send the knife.

Owner and receipt: Not stated.

Start a claim: Fill in the Repair Request Form, with photos, on Case's knowledge base; a repair technician replies with next steps.

How long: Case warns repairs could take 12–18 weeks.

Also: If a covered knife can't be repaired, Case offers the closest current model. It doesn't match sentimental or collector value.

Sources: Warranty · Repairs · Repair request form

CRKT

From me: I have sent a knife back to CRKT to repair. It was the Ken Onion Ripple.

Warranty: Limited lifetime warranty against defects for as long as the original buyer owns the knife, if it was bought from CRKT or an authorized retailer. Accessories and sharpeners get one year; built-in LED lights, 90 days.

Leaves out: Normal wear, abuse, misuse (prying, pounding, throwing, hammering, dropping), failure to maintain, cosmetic damage and loss. Most rust. Coverage ends if the knife is modified or changes hands.

Sharpening: Not offered. CRKT's FAQ says it is working on a service and suggests a professional sharpener meanwhile.

Shipping: You ship it in and insure it; CRKT isn't responsible for packages lost on the way. Return shipping isn't stated.

Owner and receipt: Original owner only. Proof of purchase may be required.

Start a claim: Download the Warranty Information Form, pack it with the knife, and ship to CRKT in Tualatin, Oregon.

Sources: Warranty · FAQ

Gerber

Warranty: Limited lifetime warranty in North America (25 years elsewhere), for as long as the original buyer owns it. Gerber may repair, replace, substitute or refund.

Leaves out: Improper use or maintenance, normal wear, sharpening, accidents, environmental factors, commercial use, loss or theft, unauthorized repair or modification, spare blades and accessories, and knives from unauthorized sellers. Worn coatings are not a defect.

Sharpening: No sharpening service on Gerber's pages, and “sharpening” is on the warranty's list of exclusions.

Shipping: Claims start with photos, and Gerber says you don't send the knife in unless told to. If it asks for the knife, you ship it at your cost.

Owner and receipt: The original buyer or the person it was given to; not transferable. Gerber may ask for a receipt.

Start a claim: Online warranty claim form with photos, for the US and Canada. Elsewhere, email pdxwarranty@gerbergear.com.

How long: 7–10 business days to process a claim.

Sources: Warranty terms · FAQ · Claim form

KA-BAR

Warranty: Limited lifetime warranty, to the original buyer only, for that buyer's lifetime. KA-BAR repairs, replaces or substitutes a comparable product.

Leaves out: Neglect, normal wear, and improper use: throwing, batoning, or using the blade as a can opener, chisel, pry bar, screwdriver or digging tool.

Sharpening: Not offered. KA-BAR's FAQ says it doesn't sharpen or repair knives in its warehouse and suggests a stone.

Shipping: You return the knife at your own expense and risk. Return shipping isn't stated.

Owner and receipt: Original buyer only.

Start a claim: Fill in the online warranty claim form and print it (or send a note with your details), then ship the knife to KA-BAR in Olean, New York.

How long: 2–3 weeks after KA-BAR receives it.

Sources: Warranty · Claim form · FAQ

Kizer

From me: I've returned a couple of knives to Kizer and CIVIVI.

In my drawer: 10 Kizers (the full list); my reviews: Drop Bear and Sheepdog Mini.

Warranty: Limited lifetime warranty for the original owner against defects in material and workmanship. One of Kizer's pages dates the wording to May 2019.

Leaves out: Loss, abuse, neglect, misuse, accidents, improper sharpening, and worn or chipped coatings. Taking the knife apart, or a repair by anyone but Kizer, voids the warranty.

Sharpening: Kizer's warranty page lists sharpening among the things to email about first, but publishes no price or terms.

Shipping: You pay postage; Kizer calls it the customer's responsibility and isn't responsible for knives lost in shipping.

Owner and receipt: Original owner or buyer only.

Start a claim: Email service@kizercutlery.com before sending anything.

How long: 30–45 days.

Sources: Warranty · Warranty FAQ

Leatherman

Warranty: 25-year limited warranty from the day you receive the tool. Members of Leatherman's Insider program get a 40-year extended warranty.

Leaves out: Abuse, alteration, theft, loss, unreasonable use, rust and corrosion, finishes and laser marks, commercial or bulk buys, and most accessories and sheaths.

Sharpening: Free, but only on its MagnaCut models: ARC, Blazer, Glider, Pioneer, Rustle, Trac and Wave Alpha. Plain edges only; chipped or broken blades are judged case by case.

Shipping: You pay to ship it in; Leatherman pays to ship it back, for warranty work and for sharpening.

Owner and receipt: Original or primary owner only. Bought from an authorized dealer; proof of purchase may be required.

Start a claim: Fill in the online form with a photo of the whole tool, one form per tool. A packing slip arrives by email; print it and ship it with the tool.

How long: Allow 10–15 business days for a warranty; give sharpening 7 business days to be assessed.

Sources: Warranty · MagnaCut sharpening

Ontario

Warranty: Limited lifetime warranty on products made in the USA: if one fails structurally, Ontario repairs or replaces it free. Its imported (“international and globally sourced”) products get one year.

Leaves out: Cosmetic damage from use, abuse, misuse, modification and neglect.

Sharpening: No sharpening service listed on its pages.

Shipping: Not stated.

Owner and receipt: Not stated.

Start a claim: The warranty page gives no steps; start through Ontario's contact page.

Sources: Warranty · Contact

Before you send a knife in: ask first, clean it, insure it

Quick answers: only ESEE and Spyderco cover a second owner

Which knife brands sharpen for free?
Benchmade, Chris Reeve, CIVIVI/WE, Cold Steel, Kershaw, SOG, Spyderco and Zero Tolerance sharpen at no charge, per their own pages. Leatherman does it only for its MagnaCut models. Buck, Rick Hinderer and Microtech sharpen for a fee. CRKT and KA-BAR say they don’t offer it, and Böker sends only ceramic blades to an outside sharpener. Free sharpening still costs postage at seven of the eight. Kershaw and Zero Tolerance add a $7 return fee, and Spyderco, Cold Steel and SOG charge $10. Benchmade’s $20 kit covers both ways, and Chris Reeve has you pay shipping both ways.
Does Benchmade still sharpen knives for free?
Yes. Benchmade says LifeSharp itself is always free. The $20 fee on an online request pays for the Service Kit and insured shipping both ways. It’s free if an authorized Benchmade dealer sends the knife in for you, or if you take it to the factory store in Oregon City.
Is a knife warranty transferable to a second owner?
At two of these 22 brands, yes: ESEE and Spyderco. ESEE says so outright: its warranty follows the knife however many times it changes hands, with no receipt needed. Spyderco’s covers “the owner of a genuine Spyderco product,” with no first-owner limit, and asks for a receipt only if you have one. Nine brands limit the warranty to the first owner: Böker, CIVIVI/WE, CRKT, Gerber, KA-BAR, Kershaw, Kizer, Leatherman and Zero Tolerance. The rest don’t say. That includes Benchmade, though its LifeSharp sharpening service is open to all owners of authentic Benchmade knives.
Does sharpening my own knife void the warranty?
Not by itself, at the brands that say. Microtech and Demko both write that normal sharpening doesn’t void it; damage from sharpening is another matter. Spyderco, Kizer, CIVIVI and WE exclude damage from improper sharpening, and Cold Steel, SOG and Gerber list sharpening among what the warranty doesn’t cover.
Newsletter

New test results, by email

One email when a new guide or measured test lands. No spam, never sold, unsubscribe anytime.

By subscribing you agree to receive email from Owned & Tested. Privacy.